History of Glenville North Carolina
Formally known as Hamburgh, settlement of the Glenville area began as early as 1827. The Hamburgh post office was used as a fort in case of attack from the local native Cherokee people. At the time of its incorporation it was the largest town in Jackson County. The town had the first private high school in Jackson County.
The lake was filled in the 1940s, after Nantahala Power and Light built a hydroelectric dam on the Tuckasegee River. The town was destroyed in 1941 by a flood caused by the new lake. The town was rebuilt and has now become a popular tourist destination, housing many multi-million dollar homes.