“Georges Creek Valley Maryland Grist Mills”
Town of Barton
Barton is a small town located in Allegany Maryland along the Georges Creek Valley. Barton has a peaceful warm atmosphere and celebrates the town each year with the Party in the Park showcasing crafts, food, entertainment, and a parade.
History of Barton
The town was laid out by William Shaw Jr. in 1853, naming it after his father’s hometown in England. The discovery of coal attracted many settlers. The deep mines have been replaced by strip mines today. The coal mining industry gave way and created a railroad called the Georges Creek Railroad to ship out the coal from the town.
Georges Creek Valley Grist Mill
Mill at Moores Run
This was the first grist mill in the area powered by a water wheel and built by Henry Ingram. The mill was built a few hundred feet from Georges creek which powered the water wheel.
Owned by John Morrison near Mill Run creek and was located on the south side of Barton.
This mill was built by the Shaw family who started the town. It was a large stone mill but was town down in 1961.