History of Lenoir North Carolina
The history of Lenoir begins around 1765 when the first settlement, known as Tucker’s Barn, was established. The barn was built by a family named Tucker on the north side of Lower Creek. The homestead became a gathering place for many and the community of Tucker’s Barn was built. The barn was used as a voting precinct, a muster ground, and a place for celebrations. General William Lenoir, a Revolutionary hero, gave a speech at a large Fourth of July party held at the barn.
When Caldwell County was formed in 1841 the town began debating over what would be the new county seat. After much consideration the community decided on the area of Tucker’s Barn mainly for its accessibility in case of a Spring flood. The new county seat was then named in honor of General William Lenoir.
The city of Lenoir came to life after the Lenoir Furniture Company was formed in 1889. The furniture industry of Lenoir began to develop from this company into an industry that supplied thousands of jobs for people all over Western North Carolina. This fine-crafted furniture that had been created in Lenoir was purchased and used in houses in over thirty different countries. This industry has continued to develop and attract people from all over the world to the city of Lenoir.