History of Dillsboro North Carolina
Originally known as New Webster, the town changed its name to Dillsboro in 1889 in honor of William Allen Dills who first settled here. The Dill house was the first house in Dillsboro and is still used by the Riverwood Shops today. Here Mr.Dill operated the town’s first post office which overlooks Scott’s Creek and the Tuckaseigee River.
The town flourished in 1883 when the new railroad was built, drawing tourists from all over. At the turn of the century, Dillsboro was the largest non-county seat town west of Asheville with about 750 residents.
The Southern Railway continued to provide for the community, bringing goods and services from the outside world. Being that there was no river crossing at Dillsboro, the railway was an important transportation center for local industry.
Many of the first buildings found in Dillsboro are still in use today. The town has remained a popular tourist town due to its cool summers and beautiful mountain scenery. You can take a self-guided tour of historic Dillsboro and explore the structures that brought this town to life.